Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Jessica tutors in Falls Church, VA

Jessica M.

Private tutor in Falls Church, VA

Education

I am a junior completing a Psychology and Cognitive Science Major, Literature and Studio Art Minor at University of Richmond

Experience

- I have previously tutored students in both middle school and high school in various subjects i.e. AP biology, AP studio art, algebra I and general test prep. - I scored a 2010 on the SAT, and consistently scored 5's on every AP test I was administered in high school ( AP Biology, AP English and Composition, AP English and Literature, AP US History, AP European History, and AP Studio Art: 2D Design) - I graduated Suma Cum Laude from Bishop Ireton High School and was a member of the National Honor Society with a 4.2 GPA - I have maintained above a 3.5 GPA my first two years at university. I have won several academic achievement awards, including a 3D design book award. - I want to be a tutor because I am able to communicate with students. I approach learning as a process that involves communicating strengths and weaknesses and building teaching strategies based on each. - I have seen drastic improvements in the grades of those I have tutored in the past. One of my past students was able to raise her grade in mathematics by two letter grades subsequent to our sessions.

Availability

Weekends in the morning

Can Meet

Up to 20 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

- I really enjoy creative writing and the visual arts. In my spare time I love to draw, paint, and sculpt. I am currently applying for the VMFA fellowship and other design grants. - I volunteer in my spare time at my local hospital. I like the challenges it brings and the chance to participate in my community. - I have a psychology background. I'm very good at listening and effectively communicating. I like that tutoring gives me to opportunity to talk to students about school and learning and find ways to tailor those to their needs. - I enjoy being around kids and teenagers. I worked at a day care for several years. I'm easy to work with and I'm very open minded.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!